Basics

As we all know, my sewing lately has revolved around underwear. After getting all my notions (from Tailor Made Shop, Make Bra and Bwear) it was a matter of hours to put together two bras:


I’ve used Ohhh Lulu’s Romy pattern for both, and based on this I’d call it a versatile pattern. (Considering that my first velvet bra is also completely different from these.) The fit varies a little depending on the material, and the lace bra seems to be a little tighter than the strappy one. Actually you can almost see the size difference in the photo, and I think it’s mostly about the open upper cup in the strappy bra being more forgiving in the sense of fit. The upper edge in the lace bra sits lower while the straps find their place on their own. Like this:

The lace bra is fully covered by that same neckline. As you can see, the upper edges dig in a little at armpits, so I might need to experiment with the cup fit a little. However, this doesn’t feel at all uncomfortable and I’ve successfully worn all three bras with no complications. It’s pretty luxurious to have four bras in laundry rotation after trying to survive with three stretched ones for a couple of months! Also, I’m totally wearing the strappy one like this when the summer comes.

Which brings me to a serious issue with sewing your own underwear: it would be so nice to show and tell when you’ve made something super nice, learned to apply FOE so much better, found exellent notions and pretty lace and love all the strap details. And then you end up feeling Saga Noren level socially awkward for either talking about it at lunch (we have a pretty relaxed office) or instagramming pieces of lace. I’ve done both. Usually manage to bite my tongue before going into too much fit details, but still. It feels weird, because I’m used to showing off my self-made clothing, but now I don’t really have anything to present. I mean, I’ve not gone as far as to change t-shirts in an open office.

So I ended up making a top that would show a tiny bit of straps. Not for work, but perfectly ok for more casual events. I feel like a horrible blogger for constantly forgetting to take perfect photos right after finishing stuff, and ending up posting wrinkled clothes after two days of wear. Also I hate taking selfies, so all I have for you is the photo above to prove that I’ve made Ogden Cami from True Bias, in light weight black rayon. I had some doubts about the pattern in the sense that it’s so minimalistic, but on the other hand I’ve been out of basic tops for a while. And it’s actually kind of facinating to have something with basically no detailing what so ever, and I really like the smooth transition between the neckline and straps.

When it comes to fit and construction, I have no complaints abouth either. I made a straight size 2, shortened the body by 5 cm and the straps about the same. The instructions seemed very detailed, but I basically just browsed through to check the order and measurements for hemming. This is just a personal preference, but I like more general “sew until done” instructions and these seemed to be very much geared for beginners. I just like being left on my own when sewing, so I avoid reading stuff like “remember to finish seams to avoid fraying” or “be careful not to cut throug the seam”. To me it feels like someone is watching over my shoulder all the time, but as said, totally a personal thing and I can see how someone else would love those reminders. 

All in all, a nice quick project and I’ll probably make another one when I find the perfect silk. All of these small pieces of clothing have in a way replaced knitting for me: they are easy to pick up after work, don’t take much space and can be folded somewhere while I need the table for something else. But I like change, so I’ve kicked off the massive process of printing, cutting and taping together Isla trench coat from Named Clothing. Because while my bra issues have been fixed for now, I still have a wardrobe hole the size of a neat spring-autumn coat. More on that later!

3 thoughts on “Basics

  1. Very nice! I’ve begun considering making bras myself, but I tend to prefer to go without (sensitivity issues because of MS), so haven’t seen a reason to venture there yet. When my torso gets back to normal again I might change my mind. šŸ˜ƒ

    Like

    1. I can understand going without, even when I don’t have any issues worse than a sensitive skin. But if nothing else, bra making is quite fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s much more comfortable than a bra, that’s for sure. It’s not like my tits will fall off, so why be uncomfortable? If I’m running (I wish) it would be another matter. šŸ˜† Not that they’d fall of then, rather that a supportive sports bra is a brilliant invention!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

